iPhone

Standard

“In more bad news for Windows Mobile, Apple shipped more iPhones in the quarter than the total of all handsets based on the Microsoft system, even though their numbers actually increased by 42%.” (See article Apple and RIM tussle for Q4 prizes as smartphones boom)

I’m really sorry, but I don’t think Windows Mobile 6.5 or 7 is going to make any difference, it seems that Microsoft is not going to be able to produce anything compelling enough, soon enough.   I don’t think there’s going to be a “comeback”.

In case you think that the iPhone is all hype and marketing, I have a question for you.  Have you ever tried using one?  I have yet to meet anyone who has had less than a “revelatory” experience using an iPhone. 

I’ve had a great experience developing for the platform (I think the Compact Framework is excellent).

I believe the future of mobile computing is and is going to be huge, but I’m afraid Windows Mobile isn’t going to play a significant role anymore. 

Future handset operating systems will be various, including of course the iPhone and Android.

Other mobile devices such as tablet computers and netbooks will probably continue to run Windows, so I think Microsoft should concentrate their efforts on continuing to ensure relevance on this form factor.

For developers I think the news is all good.  There are great opportunities out their in mobility, if we are willing to “move on” in our choice of development technologies. 

 

Links

Permanent Link to IE6 for Windows Mobile – Better, but not brilliant

The Mobile Spoon: What happens when a Windows Mobile Addict breaks his vow and buys an iPhone?

Apple and RIM tussle for Q4 prizes as smartphones boom

 

Share this post :

Leave a Reply

